Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages.

Discuss both view points and give your own opinion.

In the modern era of technological advancement, people have myriad options of transportation. Although it is said by a vast section of the society that the cycle is good and latest mode of commuting, there are others who oppose and believe that it has obvious demerits. This essay will discuss both arguments of the topic before reaching an opinion in my discourse ahead.

On the one hand, many people find riding bicycles has copious benefits to individuals and society. It is the most economic means of transportation. This means to say that people do not need to pay for fuel, taxes and insurance if they ride bicycles. Another point worth noting is that a preference of

cycles for transportation is well appreciated measure to curb side effects of global warming by reducing air pollution as it does not require fossil fuels. A good point in case can be an initiative by the citizens of Singapore to use bicycles for daily commuting has reduced air pollution and traffic congestion in recent year compared to 2018.

On the other hand, the opponents of the above view oppose and hold the view that bicycles has obvious demerits. This may be due to the fact that it is not possible to ride bicycle for elders, folks having physical disabilities. Moreover, travelling by cycles is not pragmatic in routine life. Take for an example, for a person who wants to travel long distance and willing to carry luggage, bicycle is clearly not an ideal way of transportation. Thus, it has obvious disadvantages.

In conclusion, I believe that it is an undeniable fact that riding bicycles has advantages in terms of saving money and environment, however one should not ignore the fact that they are not suitable mode of transport for long distance travelling.