Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages.

Discuss both view points and give your own opinion.

These days, the debate on cleaner transportation options has resurfaced among people. They have a great deal of options, but some believe that bicycles are an extremely suitable option when we consider on contemporary ways for transportation. However, others believe that it only has some evident demerits for riding one. In my opinion, bicycles are a great way to travel while in some cases they must be avoided, this essay will discuss both views.

Clearly, we have seen a drastic development in two-wheelers especially cycles. Advancements in their structures and capabilities have helped cycles to achieve better speed and reliability factors, which are making people rethink the new way to travel. In Denmark, for example, during the lockdown, the sales of bicycles have exceeded car sales. Also, they are quite substantive choices that could help reduce pollution levels in urban cities. Thus, they can a viable option for a new era transportation system.

Although with such great advantages, there are certain inevitable disadvantages which come with this mode of transportation. The most important one is safety concern while traveling on highways. As of now, governments do not provide any separate lanes for cyclists in most parts of the world that raises questions on the protection cycles to provide to the riders. Another important point is only one person with a limited amount of goods can be accompanied provided that the cycle has a carrier to hold it. Because of this, each individual needs to take care of their own things. Consequently, some people do not prefer this way to commute.

In conclusion, purchasing a bicycle to travel can be a better option today as it might help to mitigate some issues such as pollution and traffic congestion. However, with these pros, there can be some cons that made people reckon the long-term benefits with cycles. I believe, as far as the technological progression is made on such items, we are not far enough to accept them as the best mode to commute.