Some people say that communication between family members is less now as compared to past. Do you agree or disagree?

Indubitably, family is of paramount significance in every individual’s life. It is often argued that there is a paradigm shift in the communication level among family members in contemporary era as compared to bygone era. However, I partially agree to the given notion.

Apparently, various factors can be observed which has substantially contributed in reduced communication among family and have reasons to substantiate it. To begin with, the working schedules of individuals have significantly impacted the work life balance. Subsequently, they have less time to devote to their beloved ones. Although, people do talk with their family members, they lack spending quality time in family. Henceforth, family confronts the potential problem of weak bonds. According to BBC, 70% of working people have less time to spend with the family. Apart from this, the advent of modern technology has reduced the human interaction. Conspicuously, people are extremely interested in socializing online rather than sharing their feelings with family. To vindicate, children like to spend a lion's share of time on Facebook and Instagram instead with family.

On the other hand, in this modern epoch, communication has prolifically increased among family members for myriad reasons. Chiefly, is modern technology helpful in escalating communication? Certainly yes! People who are far away from their families are reaping the benefit by being in touch through these communication mediums. To corroborate, the advanced feature of video calling have made easier for people to be in touch with their family. Besides this, bygone are the days, when children used to hesitate to share anything with their parents. In this contemporary era, even though parents are busy in working, the freedom of sharing among children has increased the communication among family members.

Suffice to say, the world has witnessed numerous of changes from the past decade being decreased communication among family the most prominent. Nevertheless, in my contention the family communication has reduced because of hectic work life and usage of mobile phones more. Although, work is important to earn bread and butter, a balance should be maintained for a smooth family life