Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Curriculum in school is designed in such a way that It provides a holistic knowledge to all the students. With the advent of technology, technical subjects such as science and technology are gaining popularity among many. Alternatively, there are many who still believe that studying history as a subject is of paramount importance. This essay discusses how studying science is necessary to understand what our future would be but why understanding history holds the key to our survival in the future.

There are always two types of students particularly when it comes to preference of their subjects. There are one that like history and literature while the others who like more of technical subjects. To learn science is obviously necessary as it gives us a glimpse of our future. For instance, the idea of utopian future cities with flying cars and the involvement of robots in daily activities does not look that farther anymore. For this reason, I think it is important to study science and technology as a school subject to better understand what is coming next.

In comparison to the former mentioned history has proved its worth in due course. It has clearly proved its relevance by unraveling our ancestor’s secrets of survival and techniques of dealing with difficulties. As it is rightly said’ history repeats itself’ it is inevident for us to study our past as young children so as to not make the same mistakes made by our forefathers. According to a recent research published by Harvard university humans would have to evolve by a rate of 8% every year to escape extinction in coming 5000 years and in order to so, knowledge from especially from our past is going to be useful. Therefore, in my view history is definitely an important subject to study in school.

While all the subjects taught in school have a varying influence on an individual depending on their interest and future career choices, some have more weightage than others. There is two school of thoughts, first being the one that studying history is most necessary whereas others think that in today’s world it is technical subjects that make the most difference. This essay discussed why the latter is not absolutely unimportant but, why studying history is extremely necessary in this fast changing world. In my opinion, history and our past hold the answer to our future existential crisis and hence its relevance is much compared to any other subjects.