Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Having choices in life is an essential requirement as it gives an individual a sense of freedom to choose and decide as per their liking. In todays day and age we have been presented with multiple alternatives for anything and everything that we seek. I completely agree with the fact that in current scenario we are not limited with only a handful of options for our requirements.

With the invention of internet there is an increase in access to global education and our world has become virtually smaller and easier to reach. These days one can reach to any corner of the world through their computers and World Wide Web services. Consequently this also introduces them to knowledge and industry of that place which allows them to take advantage of it from a distance. For example a person from a developing country like Africa could order some medicine online from United States and receive excellent medical treatment from their home country. Hence it is clear that advent of internet has opened wide doors of options for us.

Furthermore, these plethora of alternatives has increased as a response to consumer demands and a common psyche that ‘variety is the spice of life’. Consumer driven industry say for example cosmetics and health foods in particular seems to offer various ways in which a demand could be addressed(satisfied) and this in combination with years of well experimented marketing strategies results in increasing availability of similar products. According a research conducted by students of Business program in 2010, more than 70% of American buyers prefer brands and shopping malls that provides them with many options to select from, as this feeds in to their belief of having power the choose. In short, now we have plenty of ways to select and shop owing to increasing consumerism.

This essay discussed how we have far more alternatives for every aspects in our life compared to in the past, due to rise in internet usage, globalization and effective marketing strategies. These options available to us not only works in our favour when, it comes to price point but also gives us near to customized (tailored) requirement. In my opinion I especially believe that choices increased in response to our ever increasing global reach and diverse needs.