Some people say that the Internet will soon become the preferred method of delivery of the news and information, causing the newspapers and magazines to gradually disappear. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and include examples from your knowledge or experience.

Although internet is considered the most favourable method of delivery of news and information, newspapers and magazines would remain popular for below mentioned reasons.

Undoubtedly, internet is fast and delivers the news and information promptly to the users. They do not need to go market to purchase newspapers and magazines to read. Everyone has smart devices in their hands that are used to get information and thereby saves time which is consumed in travelling to buy news papers and magazines to get information and news.

However, the newspaper is being purchased by a large proportion of the people living in the society because of its cheapest rate. To get news and information using internet, one needs to buy a smart device which costs them much. Poor section of the society cannot compete with the wealthiest people hence unlike wealthier, poor users prefer to buy newspapers. For example, internet can only be used using expensive devices such as a smart cell phone, a laptop and a desktop, and the cost of these devices vary USD1000-2000 whereas the cost of a newspaper is USD10 cents.

In terms of magazines, it is one of the best sources of authenticated information which is liked by many people. This means of communication provides the concise and authenticated information to the users whereas the news and information gathered from internet is not authentic and leads to conflicts. Yesterday’s news about the terrorist attack in the Sudan was not true, and later the writer of the news apologized for mentioning the wrong year.

Provided that internet provides the information on time to the users, news and magazines would never lose importance because newspapers are the affordable means of communication and magazines reveal the trustworthy information.