Some people say that in our modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that handwriting skills are no longer important in this era of technology. So they opine that children do not require investing time to hone their handwriting skills, especially when they will most likely type instead of writing for the rest of their life. Unfortunately, this opinion is misguided. I strongly believe that handwriting is important even in today’s digital world.

Handwriting skill is important because when children learn to write in a clear and concise way, they also learn how to express themselves properly. This leads to better academic and professional performance. I reckon handwriting is much more than simply putting letters on a page; it is a key part of learning and expressing ideas. Scrawls that cannot be read may be compared to talking that cannot be understood and writing difficult to decipher to stammering speech.

Handwriting is also important because children are required to use it daily in school and who struggle with the mechanics of handwriting may have trouble taking notes, tests or completing their schoolwork. This can affect both their self-esteem and their attitude toward school. Good penmanship means better grades. Studies show that the same mediocre paper is graded much higher if the handwriting is neat.

More importantly, handwriting proficiency inspires confidence. The more children practice a skill such as handwriting, the stronger the motor pathways become until the skill becomes automatic. Furthermore, handwriting aids memory. For example, if a person writes a list or a note and then loses it, he is more likely to remember what he wrote than if he just tries to memorize it.

In conclusion, computer and digital data have no way replaced the necessity of handwriting skills. They are even more prevailing in this era of technology where a good handwriting is related to academic performance and success, one the one hand, and inspire confidence, on the other hand.