Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

It is often argued by some people that children need to be motivated by their parents to join in team works; others' idea; however, are exactly in conflict with this, and they put forward the view that it is highly indispensable that children must be able to spend their leisure time alone. Nevertheless, there are rational justifications on both sides of this contentious topic which will be discussed in details, followed by a concluding view on the matter.

On the one hand, there are those reasoning that if children participate in some group activities, these can be extremely beneficial for them owing to some compelling reasons. First and foremost, such activities boost their sense of cooperation; that is to say, so as to achieve the best result, they should learn how to cooperate with other persons. In addition, it is a great way to master some social skills which in turn will be absolutely worthwhile for their future. last but not least, they get acquainted with other's tastes and opinions; this in turn enhances their tolerance.

On the other hand, the opposing view asserts, it is logical for children to have the ability of filling their free time solitarily on the basis of being able to stand on their own knees in the future. In other words, it is incredibly vital for children to be independent which this crucial skill can be grasped by concluding some tasks individually and without the assistance of someone. To illustrate, there are some circumstances that the person ought to deal with a difficult situation alone and if the person has the habit of tackling a problem by the help of others, the hardship can not be overcome successfully.

To conclude, there are valid arguments on both fronts of this controversy; on balance, however, it is advisable that each children is necessary to acquire both interpersonal and impersonal skills which they can be reached by blending with others to pursue a similar goal and finding a viable solution for a problem on their own, retrospectively.