Some people say that schools do not do enough to teach young people about health.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that educational institutions provide less or no contribution towards educating their pupils regarding health-related topics. People seem to have varying views on this topic based on their age, location, and cultural background. As for me, from what I have experienced throughout my life, I partially concur with the point of view, as schools do not really put in an effort to spread awareness regarding certain areas compromising our health, due to narrow-minded societal thinking. I shall elaborate on these views and discuss a few other aspects on this topic in the forthcoming paragraphs.

My views on this topic are strengthened by a few personal experiences in my life. For instance, in a conservative country like India, sex education is considered a subject that is not to be discussed, in any circumstance. It is deemed to be a matter that should be ignored and never brought up especially in front of the kids. Moreover, basic procedures such as CPR (Cardiopulmonary resuscitation), which is necessary to revive a person after they have a stroke, are never taught by the administration bodies. Although sports are encouraged in many schools, the importance of physical activities is not usually talked about.

In deep contrast to my views (expressed above), some people believe that schools do provide enough education that is required to the children. Many schools promote healthy eating by making students bring homemade food and preventing unhealthy food to be sold in their canteens. Even though the educational institutions may educate their pupils on a few health-related topics, critical health issues involving sexual welfare are mostly avoided and are left to the parents on their education.

Based on the elaborate discussion in the paragraph above, we can conclude that, while providing education on topics implying to consume nutritious food and exercising, schools should also make a point to teach the youngsters about intimate matters as well.