Some people think that in order for a hobby to be enjoyable, it needs to be difficult in some way.

Do you agree or disagree?

Several people are bound to have differing views on this topic. A few opine that strenuous pastime activities are more pleasurable. I vehemently disagree with this point of view, as people usually want to relax in their leisure time and the level of strain does not really matter. I shall elaborate on these views and discuss a few other aspects of this topic in the forthcoming paragraphs.

My views are strengthened by a few experiences in my personal life. For instance, after a long and tiring day at work, I usually find myself watching movies, listening to music, or reading my favorite books. Although these tasks require no effort whatsoever, it still provides me with utmost joy and relaxation. Moreover, there are a lot of other hobbies that people prefer to do in their free time such as playing board games, cooking, gardening, dancing and so on. People with different lifestyles prefer doing a plethora of things based on the time they get when they are free.

In deep contrast to my views (expressed above), some people are of the opinion that the more difficult a pursuit is, the more fulfillment it gives. They believe that doing hassle-free hobbies is boring and gives them no thrill. Activities like skydiving, climbing hills, feeding sharks, and so on, get their adrenaline pumping. Even though they are on the heavy side of the scale, it does not guarantee that only those who perform them are happy. People with a distinct perspective and outlook towards life may choose to just lie around on their couch and still be elated.

Based on the elaborate discussion in the paragraphs above, we can conclude that the key to happiness does not depend on the things we pursue in our spare time, but the felicity we get out of it.