Some people think watching movies is a waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Cinema is a form of modern art, which creates an imaginary world that, in most cases, resembles the real world. Movies invite us to live in another world, and experience life through fictitious characters forcing us to see the globe through a different lens. While some films are targeted to make the audience laugh and cry, others focus on delivering a message to society. Although a few people consider it frivolous, I vehemently believe that being able to view this manifestation of art can help people be more creative, de-stress, and provides an opportunity to boost their imagination. I shall elaborate on these views and discuss a few other aspects on this topic in the forthcoming paragraphs.

My views on this topic are strengthened by a few experiences in my personal life. For instance, I always find myself watching movies after a long day at work. Not only does it help me unload my tension, but it also assists me in being more innovative. The aesthetically pleasing costumes, furniture, make-up, and so on depicted can inspire many individuals in their own professional lives and allow them to think out of the box. Apart from visual appeal, the international distribution of films aids multiple content creators to showcase their culture in front of a broad audience. For example, I love to watch foreign movies to improve my vocabulary in a particular language.

In deep contrast to my views (expressed above), some people say that watching movies is a wasteful effort. They are of an opinion that the cinema can be addictive and sitting in one place can make people obese, which can be easily managed by enforcing discipline. Moreover, they say that movies that portray murders, assault, and robberies stimulate real-life crimes. Although criminal activities are triggered by viewing such violent representation, the entirety of the situation cannot be blamed on the media.

Based on the elaborate discussion in the paragraphs above, we can conclude that cinematography not only allows us to live in a different world for a while but also gives us a chance to learn new things and such a portrayal should never be considered superfluous.