Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given in the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree about this opinion?

Some people think that protecting animals and birds is excessively attracting concern and resources of society. Personally, I would argue that although much attention and a large budget are given, the protection of wild species is worth being focused on at the current scale.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people are paying much attention and allocate many resources to protect wildlife. First, many non-governmental organizations have been globally established, in which their visions are to guarantee the survival of wild animals and birds. This undoubtedly attracts a great deal of social attention via a variety of their programmes. For example, The WildAid Campaign whose aim is to protect endangered species has drawn incredible community’s attention by appointing the football star David Beckham as its lead ambassador. Second, being globally conducted, some protection programmes could cost a huge amount of money to/for build infrastructure or carry out researches. If they are not allocated budget, their aims are hardly achieved.

However, I believe that the current social concern and budget are really necessary because of the importance of nature. The first reason is that protecting wild animals and birds would maintain the balance of the ecosystem, which ensure the survival of various creatures on the earth, and the human race is of no exception. If just only a few species became extinct, the ecosystem would be disturbed, threatening the existence of a vast number of other species. Additionally, because natural habitats are really crucial for human, preserving the habitats to protect the wildlife significantly benefits human. For instance, rainforests produce oxygen, absorb CO2 and stabilize the earth climate.

In conclusion, while much concern and many resources are focused on the protection of wild animals and birds, they deserve to be protected because of their vital role in human’s life.