Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

According to recent research, nowadays, most of the street crimes are conducted by teenagers and this issue is increasing at an alarming rate. Some people assert that young people should do some unpaid work in their spare time and contribute to helping their local community. This approach would not only help a certain individual but will be beneficial on a bigger scale as well. I completely agree with this approach as it has innumerable advantages. I shall elaborate my stance with valid arguments and examples in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, predominantly, teenagers would achieve a sense of responsibility by participating in the local community unpaid work. The contribution would be solely at their will as there is no payment for it. Working for the community at an early stage, they would be in a better position to analyze the issues and the problems people are struggling with. This would urge a sense of responsibility in them and they would be more mature and responsible citizens when they grow up. For instance, I personally know a fellow who used to participate in social work and he grew up to be a human rights activist.

To elucidate my stance further, society would be equally benefited by adopting this phenomenon. There would be a drastic drop in street crimes and also community issues like use of drugs by teenagers and dirtiness. According to the survey of London University, 80% of school students who participated in voluntarily community work did not conduct any misbehavior or illegal act.

To summarize the aforementioned, I reiterate that teenagers participating in the community unpaid work would bring numerous merits to the individuals as well as to society. It is suggested that parents should encourage their children to participate in community work in order to understand society dilemmas and how they can contribute to eradicating the issues.