Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.Do you agree or disagree?

It is not uncommon to see teenagers helping the communities on a volunteer basis, and this is beneficial both to the individuals and the society. However, I do not agree with the idea of forcing them to do community services.

First of all, such a policy will certainly fatigue the younger generation. Teenagers are already under enough pressure with schools. Life in high schools is just as demanding as a full-time job. The teachers expect their student to do homework, exam revisions in addition to attending regular lectures. When teenagers do have spare time, they should spend it relaxing with friends and families, students have a life-time to work once they graduate.

Secondly, it is against the idea of a fair and free society if the government forced teenagers to do unpaid work. Every citizen should have the freedom to choose what to do when they are free. Forcing adolescents will surely cause resentment amongst youngsters who believe that they are being used as free labor, and parents, who do not want to be told how to raise their children. In worst-case scenario, citizens could riot and cause massive damage to society. Unlikely, no one is being forced to do any work now, and this is the best system.

In conclusion, I believe teenagers have the rights to choose what to do in their spare time, and forcing them to work is detrimental to the individual and society.