Should private schools receive government funding?

The debate about whether privately-owned educational institutions should be funded by the government still persists. The schools are business establishment, and their profit should be used fund the institution, but they are beneficial in some ways to the public and government, which makes them deserve the government's financial support.

Just like most non-governmental corporations, private schools are business organisations that generate revenue. Through tuition fees and service expenses that the parents and students pay, these institutions mostly earn enormous income as well as make considerable profit. This is evidenced by the recent report which showed private institutions as top earners in Nigeria. So, this income, rather than sharing it among the company's owners, should be used in acquiring facilities and upgrading equipment, instead of obtaining funds from the state.

However, with government funding, the exceptional services that is being rendered to the public by these private schools, will increase. Not only do they ensure most children have unlimited access to quality education but also teach these young adults moral behaviour, which is essential for the growth of the nation. The majority of these students always win awards in mathematics, English and cultural value, as reported by the National Educational Board in 2017, even though the schools have limited resources. Such remarkable achievement will increase if the government funds private schools

In conclusion, although private schools are profitable organisations that ought to solely finance themselves, the positive effect of their contribution to the country is of immense value. Greatly strengthened will they be with government funding.