Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study a subject that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there are contradictory beliefs regarding what students should learn and study at university. One set of people believe that beneficial subjects like science and technology should be compulsory to study in universities, while others disagree. From my vantage point, students should indeed have the freedom to study what they are interested in.

On the one hand, there are numerous job opportunities in the field of science and technology. The world is advancing towards a modern era with great speed; therefore, companies are adopting this trend. To be more specific, companies are replacing their labor workers with those who have studied in the field of science and technology due to shifting into a mechanized system. To illustrate, the company that I work for upgraded its production line machinery and has replaced most of its workers with educated employees who have studied in the field of science and technology.

On the other hand, students are entitled to choose subjects which suit their inclinations. This freedom of choice may lead to better academic performances and promising careers. J.K. Rowling is an example of a person who followed her passion for writing and became one of the most famous writers in the world. Also, each human being possesses a unique set of innate skills and talents, not necessarily in science and technology. These talents should be given a chance to bloom and find their way into the right path to success. To illustrate, if Ronaldo, one of the world’s top-class football players, had tried to memorize scientific facts unrelated to his talent in football instead of following his passion, he would have deprived the world of one of the best football players.

In conclusion, this essay discussed both sides of the argument and explained why studying other subjects compared to science and technology is also important. I strongly believe that freedom of choice in the subject of study should be fully given to students and they should not be deterred from studying subjects that interest them.