Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there are contradictory beliefs regarding what students should learn and study at university. One set of people believes that students should study subjects which are related to science and technology, while others disagree. From my vantage point, students should have the freedom to study what they are interested in.

Firstly, there are numerous job opportunities in the field of science and technology. The world is advancing towards a modern era with great speed; therefore, with this transition, demand for those who studied in such majors are increasing rapidly. Secondly, there is no doubt that these subjects could potentially be money-making occupations comparing to other subjects. Hence, those who studied subjects correlated to science and technology will face a wide spectrum of employment opportunities and fruitful professions.

On the other hand, students are entitled to choose subjects which suit their inclinations. This freedom of choice will lead to study better, excel, and become the best in their own major and future career. Also, each human being possesses a unique set of innate skills and talents, not necessarily in science and technology which should be given a chance to bloom and find their way into the right path to success. To illustrate, if Ronaldo had tried to memorize scientific facts unrelated to his talent in football instead of following his passion, he would have deprived of the world of one of the best football players.

In conclusion, this essay discussed why students should study subjects related to science and technology as well as being free to learn whatever they find interesting. I strongly believe that freedom of choice should be fully given to students.