Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the past, children were taught a multitude of topics as part of their educational curriculum. In the twenty-first century, with a plethora of knowledge available to everyone, a substantial portion of the population are of the opinion that it is unnecessary to teach subjects such as artwork and other humanities at educational institutions.

On one hand, some people believe arts hold cultural value and boost creativity. Therefore, it should be part of the teaching at schools. Additionally, it also gives children an idea and understanding of how the history of the world affected the arts and artists of the time. For instance, during the industrial revolution in Europe, there was an exponential increase in the number of artists and the kinds of art types that was born at that time.

On the other hand, with the technological revolution occurring at the moment, knowledge is readily available to everyone and people think schools and universities should focus on educating the youth on sciences and technical skills instead of arts, crafts and other such subjects. This could be attributed to the enormous amount of money required to enroll in schools and colleges these days. Moreover, parents tend to look at the return on investment and the possibility of a stable successful future for their children.

In my opinion, schools should stick to their conventional method of education since information and knowledge is easily available to specialize oneself if one is so inclined. Schools have a responsibility to introduce the youth to the different kinds of subjects and topics that are present int he world. Students are expected to deep dive into their interests and continue learning. For instance, creative students will always find an artistic outlet. However, it is the school's duty to introduce them to the arts.

In conclusion, it can be continually argued if arts should be a necessary topic in school. Like everything else, including the subject in the curriculum has its advantages and disadvantages. However, I believe it should be looked at on a case-by-case basis as there are too many variable and factors to consider for each individual unique student.