Some people think that art is essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is important to consider whether art holds any importance in a child’s life or not. Some believe that learning art is crucial for students, whereas others are of the opinion that it is good for nothing. In my opinion, art plays a vital role in all-round development of a child’s ability by fostering creativity and other essential skills.

On the one hand, there are some people who underestimate art as a subject, and consider it as nothing but a waste of time. One of the preponderant reasons behind this is that it is very unlikely to get a well-paid job by studying art. This is because artists usually have to struggle a lot in life to earn money compared to the people in other professions. For instance, majority of the students prefer scientific and technological subjects over arts just because these professions provide lucrative salaries and other benefits to its pursuers. Another point to consider is that schools in our country do not count art to be as important as other subjects. What’s more, some educational institutions do not even have an art teacher to impart the basic knowledge to the students. Needless to say, students as well as their parents see no hope in studying arts.

On the other hand, some people think highly of art and bear an optimistic view towards students learning art in the schools. I support their perspective because art not only improves the creative skills of the students but also helps them to express their feeling and ideas comprehensively. A recent study conducted in a renowned university reported that students, who are into art subjects, have superior cognitive abilities as well as a faster decision making skills than their peers. Moreover, art brings out the hidden potential in a child, which aids them to manifest their artistic skills from a very early period of life. While subjects like science and business can pave the way to earn more money, they often cannot ignite creativity and innovative ideas in a child’s mind like art subjects do.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that art helping in the overall development of a child’s mental and intellectual capabilities cannot be overlooked. Although art may not be able to provide a person with better job offers and luxurious lifestyle, it can certainly develop skills that will be rewarding in the long run.