some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree

Over the centuries, there have been many changes in the way criminals have been punished. Some fraction of society believe that certain criminals should be engaged into charity work instead of putting them into jail. I agree to an extent because not all crimes are equal, however it is important to punish an individual if he commits a heinous crime.

To begin with, the wrongdoer should be punished according to the seriousness of the crime. There are people who go against the norms of society due to forcedness. For instance, sometimes a beggar steals food out of hungriness, in this scenario it is morally wrong to put him behind the bars. He can instead be made to plant trees or to help in some unpaid work that can prosper the society. Moreover, juveniles these days are browbeaten into a certain criminal activities due to peer pressure. Such teenagers should be counselled and be asked to help the needy people.

On the contrary, no leverage should be given for a dangerous crime. These prisoners should be remained behind the bars. Exemplary, a person guilty of rape must not be given any mercy and be charged with a life long sentence to set an example in the society. Given a leverage to such individuals may lead to more crimes as they will have no fear of law.

Concluding the above paragraphs, it is evident that certain criminals can be made to do unpaid work to help the society and to provide second chance to an offender but others should be punished to quote an example to the society and keep the crime in check.