Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree?

Every person deserves a chance to improve themselves.Yes it is equally true that crime rates are increasing in a country day by day.There are some serious crimes in which prisoners are punished to spend their lives behind the bars for a lifetime.Crime does not only effect that particular person or their family,but equally makes an impression on the family of a criminal.If putting every prisoner behind the bars could have improved the situation, then there wouldn't be any further increase in the cases.

Though,there are two side of this and will discuss both in this essay.First,the labor market has many jobs that experience shortage of employees.Therefrore,if the convict with petty crime is allowed to work instead of imprisonment then they will benefit to the public because of their voluntary contribution.

Punished for the crimes like pickpocketing and shoplifting,a prisoner may learn more serious crimes like robbery of a bank,murder etc. from the serial criminals after the sentence in a jail.Thus it is important to separate them from main serial criminals and get involved by offering them a community work as a form of penalty.

On the other hand,it may happen that other criminals or prisoners also demand the same.In such cases,it becomes a responsibility of a government and police department to decide which prisoners actually deserve to do a work which can be beneficial for them as well as for others.There should be a separate provision made for the same.

The main point of argument here is that they are more likely to break the law again.People belive that criminals should serve their sentence in prison irrespective the type of crime.This will help them to understand the consequences.