Some people think children are more successful in foreign language studies than adults. Discuss.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some folks believe that young kids are good at learning unfamiliar language instead of grown ups.This essay will discuss the reasons why it is easy for children whereas difficult for adults.

To begin with, curiosity level to learn new things is higher at the young age. The schooling age is perfect to study new language because at that time our brain is fully active to learn and memories easily. As we do not have to memories our mother tongue because we grow up listening those words. Similarly it is with foreign language, if introduced at a younger age there is not much difficulty in grasping. To exemplify, now a days, there are plethora of schools where it is compulsory for students to learn a different language apart from their native language.

On the other hand, many adults who have not studied foreign language at young age found it difficult to learn at this age. Firstly, learning a new language is like studying a whole new subject and at this age when there is no connection with school or college it is cumbersome. Secondly, it is very difficult to save time in your daily routine to study. Moreover, if one has learned a bit of new language, it get wasted if not practice on daily basis.

To sum up, new language learned at an early age is easier than learning at a later stage. However, it depends on person to person how much starving he has for the new thing to learn.