Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of

time instead of going directly to study at university.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Some people believe that high school students ought to do a job or travel for some time rather than taking admission to university directly. Even though this will waste time of the students in their life, this will prepare them better for the future. This essay will discuss both the positives and negatives of taking a break between school and college.

On the one hand, by taking the break students explore many areas of life apart from just studies. Managing money is one of the important lesson which you only get through experience. The practical knowledge of their favourite subject can also be experienced. To explore the opportunities in the other countries this gap plays a vital role. All this cumulatively help the students to decide what they really want to do in the future. They are not double minded or confused in taking big decision, for instance, choice of career they want to pursue or the city they want to live in.

On the other hand, many people argue that it only waste the time and once disconnected from the studies it is very difficult for the students to restart. Some time they get so satisfied with the work they have joined that they prefer not to study further which in long-term is not a good thing. Moreover, drug and alcohol addiction in students is also seen as a result of this trend. The recent survey report in the times of India states that majority of people who choose to take a break eventually not able to complete their higher studies.

To sum up, the decision of leaving studies for a while should be taken with a clear mind and a purpose. As this trend has both merits as well as demerits.