Some people think that coins and paper money will vanish in a few years. We will only use plastic cards or some other form of electronic currency. Is this a positive or negative development?

money is a means of exchange for the purchase of goods or services. Some persons suggest that physical money will be replaced with cashless payment methods in years to come. In my opinion, this is a good advancement because it would reduce robbery, and bring down the rate of spontaneous spendings.

The most important benefit of cashless society is that the rate of swindling would be reduced. people would no longer move around carrying physical cash, this discourages pick pocketing, armed robbery, stealing and so on. Those engaged in this acts would be forced to look for a legit means of earning money. A case in point, is the statistically figure released by The Nigerian Police that the rate of pick pocketing has increased in recent time by twenty percent because of the introduction of high currency denominations in the country. this statistic shows people carry more money thereby attracting criminals to themselves.

Furthermore, it decreases people's urge to purchase unplanned things. they would not be able to easily access cash, in pratronising traders hawking by the road sides, this reduce the possibility of buying items they do not need. For example, A recent research shows that seventy five percent of people who reside in cities purchase items in traffic which are neither necessary nor needed by them. they would be able to differentiate between wants and needs, using their resources only for buying essential commodities and become better managers of their funds.

In conclusion, money makes living more enjoyable. A school of thought proposed that the means of exchange will be through cards in the future as against the current trend of using currencies. I believe this has more benefits, because sporadic purchasing and theft would be eradicated making the society more safe and secured.