Some people think that developed countries have a higher responsibility to combat climate change than developing countries. Others believe that all countries should have the same responsibilities towards protecting the environment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Climate change is becoming a major concern among all the nations worldwide. Melting of ice glaciers and rising sea level is causing a constant threat to the whole world. While some people argue that it is the responsibility of developed countries to take some serious actions to fight climate change, there are others who believe that all countries need to participate equally. In this essay I will discuss both the views and present my opinion about this issue.

Beyond any qualms developed countries are more powerful in terms of technology as well as financial means which mean that they are more equipped to understand and fight climate change that is causing serious threats including depleting ozone layer, melting of glaciers and rising sea level increasing chances of drowning of certain islands. Additionally, they have already overcome basic issues such as eliminating poverty and epidemics caused due to low socio-economic conditions. A salient example is Netherland where the government has special laws to promote the use of environment friendly vehicles such as electric motors and solar powered bikes. They have reduced the tax on these vehicles which in turns prevents carbon mono-oxide emissions on a large scale in turn significantly reducing air pollution. Therefore, developed countries are in a better position in terms of technological advancement and finances to fight climate changes.

On the contrary, others argue that all countries including developing countries should participate equally for fighting environmental changes. Participation of these countries will accelerate the efforts and thus the impact will be more powerful when all the countries will participate together. Also, participation of developing countries in fighting this common goal will increase the awareness in these countries for taking useful steps in the right direction.

However, I believe that all the countries should participate equally to fight the common enemy. Why should the hard earned money collected from the taxes of the people residing in developed countries be only utilized for fighting climate change when all the countries have an equal contribution in causing environmental pollution and climatic changes. Even if they try to make their contribution, the results will only appear when all the countries show equal participation.

In conclusion, I believe that all the nations need to look for serious answers to fight global warming and environmental changes. It is not the sole responsibility of developed nations to curb this worldwide issue. However, will this issue be taken seriously by the government of poor nations? Still remains a question.