As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Career contentment is a vital component of personal happiness and this is because majority of individuals fill a large percentage of their adulthood with work.

Quite a number of reasons contribute to this, which includes but are not limited to benefits such as salary, insurance, trainings and work environment. Despite all the aforementioned, job fulfilment as expected by all employees highly differs, and this, I believe, could be based on factors like qualification, connections or even luck.

Benefits pertaining to the welfare of a worker and a conducive work space, among other things, are essential to every employee's gratification. Incentives such as a good salary, extensive medical insurance, housing allowance and a well organised office usually go a long way in determining how satisfied and contented a staff will be. For instance, my uncle, Thompson Clark, while giving his retirement speech at the annual PEP party which I attended said, "I spent the last twenty-five years of my life working for PEP because of the amazing health care plan it offered my family". This statement, undoubtedly, expresses his joy and reasons for the unwavering commitment.

Everyone, however, cannot get a satisfactory job as the desires of every employee regarding career fulfilment varies from one person to the other. The qualification of a particular staff or the connection in which a worker employed in getting a job completely differs. For some, it could even be luck. Whatever the reasons might be, it will be subjective. In a recent survey on Tesco staff satisfaction by Emily Friar of the BBC news, 70% of workers attributed their job satisfaction to salaries, while medical plan, trainings and housing took the remaining 30%. When we remember individual differences, then there will be a realization that job gratification for all will be dependent on factors considered important by such people.

Conclusively, even though salaries, good medical plan and conducive environment contribute to employee's gratification, all however, is dependent on the person's persona and his views on what a great job should be.