Some people think that economic progress is the only way to measure a country’s success, while others think that there are other factors, which can be used to measure a country’s success. What are these factors? And among them, which one is more important than others?

It would be difficult to support the idea that economic progress alone could measure the success of a country. There can be many other factors which provide details about this. Happiness index of the people, Education standards and number or research publish per year and number of patent files per annum are some of the other ways of measuring. Among these, I believe the amount of research per year is a prime way of measuring success. Let us discuss that and education standards in details to get a better idea.

Admittedly, people's happiness is hugely matters when considering a country's success. No matter how rich they are if the people are not literate and educated, they would not be able to enjoy the modern way of living. Currently, the world is increasingly moving towards a technological revolution which is backed by education. Therefore, higher education standards of a country much matter for the ultimate success. Notably, children should be well knowledgeable while having a profound understanding of good virtues. Only then, they can be financially stable and be positives when they are growing up.

When the education system improves, concomitantly scientific research and innovation are also increasing. Nowadays, countries which are investing exponentially on such research are leading the market. For instance, many European countries are leading the annual patent submission and research publishing indices. The reason for this is because their education system is highly efficient, and as a result, they utilize their time more productively. Therefore, the overall quality of life and happiness index is higher compared to the big countries such as China and India. In contrast, in terms of economic progress, India and China are becoming superpowers, but the overall quality of life is not well-developed.

To recapitulate, to measure the countries success, annual research publication is an excellent factor according to my view. Despite financial market values, this provides an in-depth insight of overall success.