People are getting over-dependent on the internet and phones.

Is it a positive or negative development?

It is not an exaggeration to say that modern life is highly cohesive with technology. In my opinion, over-dependent on anything can be detrimental and therefore moderate use should be encouraged. However, let us further analyse the benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

Advantages of the internet are countless. Mobile phones and devices have brought the internet to the fingertips of people. For instance, the increasing popularity of mobile apps has made everyday tasks more convenience while providing great satisfaction to the user. Moreover, productivity and effectiveness of work have been increased in every sector advancing economies and overall life quality globally. To elaborate, if we consider the healthcare sector and the agricultural sector, we can understand how the internet has changed people's lives. Surgeries are been conducted online and anybody can order organic food which the love from a distant country just by using their handphone. If the internet was not there, these things would be just science fictions.

However, extreme addiction to the internet and mobile devices can cause adverse medical problems. Lack of physical exercise and concomitant obesity is one of the prime issues. Individual's addiction to the mobile screen has isolated them from society and consequently, mental issues such as depression are getting increased. In fact, as many researchers have already suggested, children's addiction to the internet and mobile devices can detrimentally effect on their education and health.

Admittedly, the internet is one of the best resources for education and it is vital for modern schools. Therefore, educating children to use it properly should have the utmost priority.

To recapitulate, in spite of the plethora of advantages which the internet and mobile phones provide, people should use them in moderation and more consciously to get the maximum outcome.