Some people think that economic progress is the only way to measure a country's success, while others think that there are other factors which can be used to measure a country's success. What are these factors? And among them, which one is more important than others?

Many countries throughout the world hold different ranks in multiple comparative indices. A faction of the society believes that a country's pace of economic development is the critical determinant of how high it is ranked on the scale. However, a vast majority owes a country's progress to several other factors, than the mere economy. This essay will list additional parameters that define a thriving nation and reflect on the importance of the most vital element of them all.

Gone are the days when a handful of countries was considered super-powers solely on the value of their trillion-dollar economies. In recent years, society is giving weight to aspects such as "Happiness", "Fair judicial process", "Future-readiness", "Transparent and progressive governance", and "Protection of Human Rights" etc. A recent 2017 survey conducted on immigrant lists the reasons why people from developed countries choose to uproot their families and settle in a new country. The cogent determinant that emerged was that people value "Human Rights" the most.

Human Rights are the fundamental necessity of a fair society. The way a country cares for the rights of its citizens has a remarkable impact on its societal and cultural values. Nations that do not merit equal rights, and are ranked lower on the Human Rights Index will inevitably lose their economic merit as they will see the exodus of people moving out. A good illustration of this is that younger generations are leaving Asian countries like Afghanistan, Vietnam, Korea and India, to open-minded countries like Canada. This migration contributes to the increasing young workforce of a country, thereby bettering its chances to become the next big economy.

To conclude, this ubiquitous transformation of the younger generation voting for Human Rights depicts the reason that will be the crucial determinant of a country's progress.