Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is believed that taking an exam is an effective way to evaluate a student’s ability. However, there is another version that it is a burden for early learners. which can not judge what such learners have their inherent capacity. There are various positive and negative reasons behind this, I will discuss both views in this essay and give my opinion later.

On the one hand, accessing personal knowledge through exam is one of the traditional approaches to know strength and weaknesses of persons. It is taken place on closed room with fixed allocated time period. If a person passes an exam, they will be given with a certificate and will be eligible to apply for jobs or services. There are some services, for which a person can be judged for their acquired personal quality by written or practical exams. For instance, to be a doctor, pilot, chartered accountant, this profession needs some kind of training and technical knowledge which can be assessed only through the exam. Also, If we sit on an exam, we could realize our weakness internally and it makes us feel confident after passing the exam. It provides real life learning in our life. Therefore, there is no other option than taking an exam. however, we can use other performance analysis tools along with exam to permeate personal knowledge and skill.

On the other hand, assessing a person through exam cannot be effective method, because of exam is held in close room and due to rooms environment, he/she might feel disturbed or nervous. Sometimes the person may have very good knowledge but in the real exam time, he/she may not be able to express his/her ability, hence will not get good marks in the exam. Also, the examination system could result in psychology trauma. For instance, in the time of Secondary Education Examination of Nepal, 2-3 person every year commit suicide because of scare of failing in the exam. Therefore, people should evaluate the student’s performance, ability and efficiency from the project work in classroom, real experience, skill, and extra activities rather than only by the results of exam.

In summary, examination system makes students very confident and shows their strengths and weaknesses. Therefore, in addition to exams, other methods also should be adopted to assess someone’s quality