Some people think that the government should ensure the healthy lifestyle of people, but others argue that it should be decided by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Many people argue that their healthy lifestyle is the responsibility of the government while other believe that government has no role in individual’s exercising habits. Although government can contribute significantly to individual’s fitness, this essay believes that it is the individual’s choice to maintain a healthy life style, on which government has no control.

On the one hand, government is considered to provide facilities to ensure that individual leads a healthy life style, these facilities may include parks, jogging tracks, hospitals, gymnasiums, fitness clubs etc. If the government is not providing such facilities, it is obvious that there is no way that their citizens will remain fit and maintain a healthy life style and this can cause them health problems such as obesity. A survey specified in ‘Times Newspaper’ reported that government initiatives in Karachi (a city in Pakistan) for the development of fitness centres and providing subsidized costs to individuals has motivated 50% individuals to exercise in gyms. However, despite the above argument, I believe that government has limited role in improving fitness of their citizen and it is the individual’s responsibility to remain healthy and fit.

On the other hand, it is considered to be a matter of personal attitude and choice to remain fit and healthy and government cannot control a population of millions. In other words, even if the government provide the facilities to maintain a healthy lifestyle, the individual may be lazy enough to avail these options or he/she may not be interested as a matter of choice. Individuals may have their social and official commitments on a priority list and hence, the government cannot monitor the life style of every individual. Based on the above argument, I believe that it is a matter of personal choice if one wishes to maintain a healthy life style and government has no influence over it.

In conclusion, although it is the government’s responsibility to provide health and fitness benefits, I believe citizens have more responsibility towards maintaining their healthy lifestyle.