Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts, and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extant do you agree with this view?

Ancient and historic cities, they try to spend money on many things such as arts to catch tourists and encourage people to visit their country. Some people are with this step by putting money on the arts, while others believe that government is wasting this money, where it could be spent elsewhere.

On one hand, several people agree with the point that government is wasting money on arts more than other important resources. Citizens believe that this money can be spent for fighting corruption, where they won't increase taxes. New projects and development programs can be done such as, building train stations, renovation for highways and lighting the roads to avoid accidents during nights. Moreover, they can put this money to decrease pollution, by removing and recycling the garbage's from the roads, where their people will have a clean environment. For example, in Lebanon corruption is all over the country, people are facing many problems in way of living and the government is wasting money to improve arts and museums to attract tourists. In my opinion, I agree with this point where governments should look over its people needs.

On the other hand, several people think that wasting money on arts is a good step for their country to catch tourists. Art is a major attracting resource for people all over the world, it's an important income for many governments, that’s why improving arts and rebuilding museums will attract tourists and open new job opportunities for the unemployment. This thing increases the economy of the country, shops and restaurants their work will rise, more tourists will spend their money. However, each country tries to become the first tourist face in their region. For example, Paris is the most tourist city in Europe where the government spend a lot of resources to attract tourist to visit it from all the world to have a look at its architecture and arts. From my side, I disagree since government can waste money on important issues before art.

As a conclusion, different argues some are with and others against wasting money on arts. I agree with the point that money must be spent on developing their country and fulfill their people needs.