Some people think that having a set retirement age (eg 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons and examples.

The compulsory retirement age for workers is a contentious issue. A growing number of the population feel that a universal retirement age across all occupations is discriminatory, and that the retirement age should be individually determined. In this essay I will explain the reasons why I wholeheartedly agree with this view.

Some people believe that retirement should commence at the same age for everyone. The proponents of this view feel that if people are entitled to the same retirement benefits, then they should contribute equally towards taxes and the economy before receiving those benefits. For instance a person who retires at age 65 will have contributed towards the government’s retirement benefits for 5 years more than somebody who retires at age 60. These people feel that a universal retirement age is the only fair option.

However, more people are beginning to recognise that not all occupations are equal, and certain professions should ensure their members are at their peak in terms of performance. Jobs where other people’s safety is at risk are counted among this number. Surgeons for example, could cost innocent people their lives if any age related illnesses affect their abilities. In addition, physically demanding jobs such as construction, cannot always be fulfilled by elderly persons, and in these professions an earlier retirement age may be essential. The reasons mentioned above illustrate why a universal retirement age is often impractical, and potentially unsafe.

Retirement age is still a hot topic of debate. Some people feel that a set retirement age is fair, while others believe that certain occupations should be able to retire at a younger age. This essay discussed why I feel that the age at which workers become pensioners should be determined by that particular occupation and not by a predetermined age limit.