Some people say that advertisement targeting children may have negative effects on them, and suggest banning such advertisement as a solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, the televisions are bombarded with various type of advertisements from A to Z. Many children become victims of these commercials. I therefore, agree that advertising should be prohibited because they are full of misleading contents as well as they can prove to be a major distraction in their academic years.

To commence with, the adverts which target children are mostly misleading them about major facts they are glorifying the products which are neither beneficial or required by them like Maggie noodles has got all the children as major fan followers and it is advertised as a nutritious snack loaded with vitamins and minerals which is a myth. Neither is it loaded with vegetables nor is it a nutritious snack, its only function is to satiate a child’s appetite. Furthermore, it is found to be highly addictive, hence, it’s advertisement should be totally banned.

Secondly, a major reason banning television commercials which lure children with glamourous advertisements is that television is an audio visual median and manufactures of the products hire services of the best advertisement agencies to produce such beautiful ads with great tag lines, catchy themes, adorable children and pets; making it all the more irresistible for children to even divert their minds from these advertisements. These children viewing such enamouring commercials get drawn towards these advertisements which come with their latest versions to further distract the children from doing their studies, for instance, Barbie Dolls, play stations, Lego toys.

To sum up, I truly believe in banning of misleading as well as excessive advertisements, as it would definitely land up with the children forming unhealthy eating habits as well as poor in their academics due to continuously watching an array of useless advertisements