Some people think that having a set retirement age (eg 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of work

There has been long ongoing debate at what should be the appropriate age for retirement and should it be same for all occupations. While some people think 65 years is right age for people to retire, others think that they should retire much early. Not all five fingers are of the same length and I think not everybody can be seen through same set of glasses, the retirement age should be based as per professions.

Firstly the professions requiring high experience that of Doctors, Lawyers, Teachers, Professors etc. gets richer with increasing age. Older Doctors, Lawyers are in high demand as compared to younger crowds so by compulsorily retiring them early it would be unfair to them as well as will not benefit the society.

There is another class for Engineers, Research Scientists who work on latest technologies & trends. For them the retiring age does not matter as they always have to upkeep with latest technologies.

Lastly their comes another genre of hard working class like Soldiers, Sailors, Pilots etc. who are constantly under stress, travel and hardly experience good married, settled life. Entire life they are travelling to some corner in the world, working very hard, under immense pressure. I think these are the people that have earned the right to retire at early age and enjoy pension and other benefits of retiring for all their hard work.

To conclude, I think there should be guidelines for the right retirement ages for each occupations, however, it is their personal choice that matters the most.