Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

There is a general belief that organizing a global sporting competition is benificial for a nation. Nonetheless, this notion has been opposed by other people who are of the belief that hosting such events pose a negative influence. The objective of this essay is to account for these two contradictory viewpoints before indicating my position.

On the one hand, there are different rationales for why holding a world-class sports tournaments such as Olympics or FIFA World Cups would bring far-reaching benefits. In the first place, the organization of these big events can build reputation and dignity of the host country all over the world. Admittedly, raising the national profile could lead to lasting economic benefits, especially income from Tourism. In particular, through the imagery displayed in the media, the host would create strong impression on international spectators and become a popular destination. Last but not least, the host country's athletes would be roused to compete for sake of patriotism and national glory. As a result, this would greatly invigorate the nation's sporting movement.

On the other hand, being a sponsor of global sporting competitions could be detrimental for several reasons. For one thing, the host country would spend gigantic national budget constructing new sporting facilities as well as upgrading existing ones. This not only takes a toll on the public budget but also opens up opportunities for corruption from dubious dealings. Secondly, the daily lives of local people can be disrupted due to making event preparations. Some countries, for instance, recruiting a huge influx of peple from overseas to build sporting facilities can cause conflict with the locals.

In conclusion, although there are plausible explanations both for and against the notion above, i would argue that the benefits of hosting international sporting events overshadow its drawbacks.