Some people think that increasing business and cultural contact worldwide have positive influences on development; others think that they have negative effects on national identities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Increasing global commercial exchange and cultural interactions are argued to have advantages for the development of a country for some, while for others they are believed to cause a loss in national identities. This essay will discuss both points of views and express my opinion on that.

On the one hand, there are strong reasons to think that a nation would gain more benefits from the expansion of international business and cross-cultural exchange. For one thing, foreign trading allows a nation to export their local products with higher costs and import commodities or technologies that it currently lacks. For instance, developing countries could buy high-tech equipment from developed ones which are vital to modernize their manufacturing operations. For another, mutual interchange of a nation’s cultural values can help attract more tourists, which results in numerous economic benefits.

On the other hand, others believe that distinctive traits of a country such as traditions, culture and languages could be eroded due to globalization. One reason is that younger generations might opt to simpler but more convenient lifestyles and thus some customs could be abandoned. For example, several youngsters in Asian countries seem to prefer Western clothes and fast foods to traditional ones. Another reason is that international commerce can also make a poorer nation become deeply depended on richer nations and hence its cultural values could be easily swayed.

In conclusion, I would argue that the increase in trade and cultural exchange with foreign countries can result in benefits for the development of a nation but also involve potential risks to its national identity. Thus, I think that it is crucial for a government these days to find suitable approaches and policies in order gain more advantages over drawbacks from the current trends of globalization.