Some people think that school should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals believe that best academic achievements should be the main factor in encourage and commend students while for others recognising student’s ongoing progress is more meaningful. This essay will discuss both points of view and express my opinion on that.

On the one hand, there are strong reasons to think that awards should be given to students with top scores. For one thing, this could create a highly competitive study environment at schools which might bring numerous benefits. For example, such environment could motivate students to do their best in their study and thus they can learn more efficiently and effectively. For another, score has long been considered the best measurement of educational quality, so it seems quite natural that rewards are associated with good academic performance.

On the other hand, others argue that it is better to commend those who make improvements in their study. One reason is that it would create more chances for students to be encouraged. For instance, even students with low learning ability can be recognised if they make enough strides and show progress in certain modules. This could give them a sense of achievement and give them inspiration in learning even they are not the best. Another reason is that this approach follows the holistic principle of education which is to access the world of knowledge, not just to gain high scores.

In conclusion, I believe that each view about how to reward students have its own merits and advantages. Thus, I think that schools should take both academic results and learning efforts into consideration when nominate students to awards.