Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the diverse educational system running in the society, some persons are under the impression that co-education is beneficial while, others believe that single-sex tutoring is the best for pupils. Although, they both have their advantages and disadvantages, I am of the opinion that mixed schooling is the best.

Mixed schooling helps build the social skills of child. These skills include communication and confidence and they can only be enhanced in an environment they encourages exposure because the constant presence of the opposite sex in a learning space will improve help it. For example, as a girl in high school, I found it difficult to fit into gatherings that involves boys because I was attending an all girls high school and therefore I was not exposed to such meetings. While, my friend could easily blend into such gatherings. However, exposure has it’s negative effect on pupils in this learning category as it could lead to sexual exploitation at an early age.

On the other hand, same-sex education aids concentration in pupils thereby curtailing all avenues for distraction in their academics. Reproduction was one of my favorite topics in biology and being that we were all girls I did not feel shy or make noise when the details of our reproductive system was explained. However, this tutoring method brings about timidity. When pupils find themselves in mixed meetings the tend to loose their voice or shy away.

In conclusion, the merit of a mixed-gender school outweighs that of a single-gender as it builds a child both academically and socially.