Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to import foreign movies and TV programs. Others think that is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that many people prefer watching TV shows and movies from overseas. While many people say that such imported products have brought the diversity to local culture, I would argue that it is necessary to promote local entertainment products.

On the one hand, some people believe that the popularity of foreign shows have brought some benefits for host country's culture. Firstly, watching foreign channels may enable local residents to understand more about other countries' customs and tradition as well as expand their horizon. The clearest example is that if people didn't watch discovery channels, they could only know natural wonders of the world through travelling which is usually very costly or even unaffordable for many people. Secondly, the exposure to foreign media might have huge impacts on habits and local lifestyle. There is no doubt that nowadays many Asian families have adapted to new western cultures like celebrating Christmas and welcoming new year even though such festivals are only for Western countries in the past.

On the other hand, I would argue that the efforts to produce local films or musical products can be more beneficial for local community. First of all, the focus on producing national programs may not only help to boost the entertainment industry but also enhance the image of that country. For example, the unprecedented development of Korean movies and pop music has not only brought a huge profit for their country but also broadcasted their local lifestyles such as fashion trends and cuisines to other countries in the world. Second of all, traditional movies might help young viewers know more about the regional landscapes of their countries and gain their knowledge about their own tradition and customs. As the result, such cultural understanding can help youngsters become the representatives of their country to introduce their valuable culture to the world.

In conclusion, although the attraction from foreign films and TV shows are undeniable, I would argue that making local products should be more encouraged.