Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basic. What is the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

It is undeniable that nowadays people have chosen different kinds of transportation for commuting rather than walking. The reason behind the lack of this basic physical activity along with some possible solutions to combat the situation will be discussed in the following

The alarming phenomenon is being caused by multiple reasons. The most essential reason is there are many alternative ways to commute for residents to choose. For example, driving cars or taking public transportation are likely to be faster than walking to offices. As a result, modern employees have tended to choose those transportation's options to save their commuting time. Another prominent cause is city dwellers nowadays get used to the sedentary lifestyle due to the daily use of high-tech products, so walking is no longer in the public's favor as the efficient way to stay in shape. For example, if households in developed countries did not buy electrical appliances such as vacuum robots and dishwashers to replace manual works, family members could spend more time for housework. It seems to be an explanation for the dependence of human on machines in transportation.

On the other hand, I maintain that there are numerous solutions to solve this issue. The most prominent solution is that governments can apply some policies to encourage residents to regain their walking habits. For example, if government raise taxes on car ownership, car owners could think about physical walking to their offices. Another significant solution is that city planners and authorities can build more public areas with sidewalks or organize walking campaigns such as local fundraising walks. An obvious result is residents will raise awareness about the benefits of walking and they might bring back their walking habit.

In conclusion, although there are fewer chances for people to walk nowadays, I'm of the opinion that people will start walking with some right approaches from governments.