Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally.

Recently, showing other countries’ movies or TV programmes has become a frequent subject of debate. While there is a tendency for showing the external cinema products, some people believe that this issue should be domestic. Despite the fact that internal TV programs or movies are considered as the first priority to watch, it is also true to say that foreign products are associated with several benefits.

To begin with, it should be noted that cinema and TV are two of the most important measures to educate people and increase the public awareness about a variety of subjects including history, culture, political decisions, and new sciences. As well, in most societies, TV is considered as the main way to entertain people. Obviously, people benefits from watching TV programs and movies significantly. Watching all domestic TV series or films might result in some kind of isolation, which means people would never know about history, for instance, of other countries.

On the other hand, in today’s world, living in a global village required to interact with other countries. Cutting-edge technological advancements facilitate the relationship between people from all around the world. Going overseas to study or work, as an illustrative instance, is growing beyond recognition recently. As mentioned before, due to the educational role of TV and cinema, watching foreign products is an effective way to increase individual’s knowledge about other countries. This result in more information before choosing an international university or company. Further, foreign movies are an easy way to learn about higher living standards. For example, those citizen of less developed countries, who are less likely to travel to developed countries, are able to learn about more civilized behaviors.

In conclusion, all mentioned points lead to a concrete foundation which indicates that although domestic movies or TV programs are able to enrich people’s knowledge, the role of foreign products is inevitable. Given this situation, it seems all governments should allocate a specific budget to import these kinds of products.