In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Some people argue that the significant amount of money should be considered as a construction budget to develop fast trains railways, while others believe in the improvement of existing public transport. I fundamentally agree with the first group and developing fast trains paths, but I think the improvement of current public transportation system could be done simultaneously.

First of all, it should be stuck in mind that modern technology advances such as fast trains, have brought more welfare and eases for people. To be more precise, fast trains as a modern transportation system allow people to commute faster and easier and reduce the time that people spend in traffic jams.

According to latest figures, in big cities such as Hong Kong, each person spends about 2-3 hours travelling from home to work and vice versa. By using modern trains this time would reduce to less than 1 hour which has countless benefits for people, especially for employees. Commentators believe that the efficiency or workforce will increase considerably.

On the other hand, since the development process of new railways and also the production of fast trains is a long-term process and might need several years, it is essential to modify the current transport system as soon as possible. In fact, a specific budget should be considered to reconstruct the existing transportation system. I disagree with the view that just new fast trains should be focused and present problems ignored.

Taking everything into consideration, certainly it seems that developing the new fast trains should be the first priority and special budget should be devoted but the improvement of existing can be done in parallel.