Some people think that the media (newspapers) have the right to publish details of people’s private life, while other’s think it should be controlled ? Discuss both views.

Nowadays, media has become an important part in the society and it is believed by some that the press has the right to share people’s personal details in newspaper, while others agree that news reports should be censored. In this essay, I will discuss both schools of thought and provide some suggestions.

To begin with, there is no doubt that newspaper readers can have a holistic picture of the news reports by reading the details of people’s lives. For example, without sharing individuals’ personal experience in the articles, it will be difficult to find the link between the increasing depression rate and modern lifestyle. Also, publishing private life stories of the governors is beneficial to maintain social stability, as it is an effective method to indicate their integrity and reliability, which helps them gain more trust from the society and bring the public closer to the authorities.

On the other hand, people who support putting regulations on news also have their sound reasons. First of all, they believe that media attract public attention by sensationalizing victims’ suffering, while ignoring harmful consequences to these individuals, such as the invasion of their privacy. Also, the overexposure of private life will get innocent people involved in news events and bring negative impacts on their lives. For instance, some criminals’ family members can face unfair treatments in society even thought they have never done anything inappropriate or illegal.

In conclusion, adding details of private life in news can sometimes be helpful to readers, but it also can bring some detrimental effects. The publisher would be well advised to take the consequence to individuals into account before they publish the news. In addition, alias should be used in news articles which involve personal information to protect privacy.