Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is indeed a fact that modern technology has added much to the world we are living in. While certain people believe that adapting to modern technology is playing a paramount role in making people less sociable, others hold the view in favor of it in the same aspect. I second my outlook of being more socially active because of advanced technology.

On the onset, there are plethora of compelling reasons why some people think that modern technology makes the masses more socially active. first and the foremost is that it has made it easy for the people to widen their social circle. In other words, the availability of internet sets a platform for them to make new friends not only from their native land, even from the other countries as well. To quote an instance, chatting and video calling through various social media application such as Facebook, Skype, Whatsapp and so on give people opportunity to stay in contact with their loved ones.

On the contrary, there is a school of thought which argues that advancement in technology has the adverse effects associated with people's presence in society. To be more precise, possession of technical gadgets namely smart phones, laptops, television prevents people to be in social function and activities as they take more interest to spend their leisure time sticking to these gadgets. In addition, a survey conduct by Oxford university shows that in USA about 65% youngsters showed less interest to have face to face interactions even with friends owing to the access of modern facilities.

Conclusively, despite having some arguments against modern technology associated with being sociable I believe in this contemporary era, saying that modern technology less sociable would be a conservative statement as no one has left to take the benefits of modern gadgets when it comes to being sociable.