Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that cutting edge technology empowers people to socialize. This statement is opposed by the opinion that computers and social networks have a negative impact on communication. This essay agrees to the latter point of view, however will review arguments of both parties.

The main advantage of innovative technology with regards to the above-mentioned matter is the unlimited resources. In other words, social networks such as Facebook and LinkedIn make it possible to unite for a common hobby, project, or an event. For instance, would a person want to discuss a recently-published book, he/she can easily find interested people via websites and with the help of search engines.

At the same time, I believe that individuals’ ability of face to face interaction can be damaged greatly. It is a proven fact that the more one surfs the Internet, the less communicative he/she becomes. From my own experience, I can tell that often it is not possible to track how much time was spent in the Web. Gradually this becomes a habit, which starts replacing live chatting. Besides that, not only the time spent with family and friends gets reduced, but also the quality of socialization, especially when it comes to children and teenagers. For example, gadgets can affect the emotional attachment of kids to their parents, or child’s self-cognition process might get endangered.

In my opinion every phenomenon has more than one side, and this question is not an exception either. However, after the consideration of both positive and negative impacts of technological development on humans’ sociability, I can restate that unfavorable effects overweight the advantages.