Some people think the money spent in developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

I agree with the view that there is no justification for investing in space exploration technology. This is true especially in the period when there are other beneficial projects.

However, it is also true that the population of Earth is approaching its peak. Exploring space could lead to the discovery of another habitable planet where the Earth's excess population can relocate to when necessary. But that is one uncertain and unassertive project that may not benefit the people despite its huge funds. So whether investing in it is profitable or not is debatable. Climate change and clean energy are just another projects that deserve investments.

The effects of climate change are there for us to see. From declining agricultural products to reducing water supplies due to insufficient rainfall. Avoiding such climatic catastrophes is possible if enough money is invested into climate technology instead of space exploration. If this is done, rain could be made to fall or not when and where it is necessary, just as China did during the opening and closing ceremonies of Beijing Olympics 2011. This climate technology could eventually increase the availability of both agricultural products and water.

As well, it could be beneficial for both the government and the people should cleaner energy be invested on as this will lead to less health problems. Electric vehicles, for example, are widely believed to exhaust zero emission, which is safer for the environment than is fumes from gas vehicles. If substantial investment is made on this electric-vehicle technology, there will be unpolluted environment, at least on motorways.

In conclusion, hardly is space exploration important at the moment, so I would suggest that the government should not spend money in developing its technology. Instead, climate and energy technologies should be invested on since they not only provide food and water but also aid good air quality.