Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Whether the styles of newly built houses should be the same as old buildings in local villages or should be different from traditional construction have recently sparked a heated debate. I will discuss both of these views and represent my personal opinion in the following piece of writing.

On the one hand, ample justifications are listed for modern structures to follow the same design in a particular place. At the beginning, similar houses approvingly promote the preservation of residential culture. They boost not only the domestic tourists but the foreign travellers as well which consequently offer a large volume of jobs for local residents such as tour guide. To illustrate, Hoi An is by far the most ancient city in Vietnam where citizens are encouraged to preserve their old houses and design their new home in the traditional ways. Due to that feature, Hoi An greatly attracts the widest range of visitors. Besides, since houses share a common construction, the sense of community is significantly improved. Should every house looks alike, other people are much more confident to socialize. Furthermore, a row of identical houses ensures safety for inhabitants and neighbors.

On the other hand, the authority should allow the residents to build their own home in their own interest. Firstly, unique styles reflect various functions and the owners’ characteristics. Take a firm as an example, it is common knowledge that companies do possess high buildings whereas ancient homes merely have three or five floors. Moreover, regarding the price, building a house almost relies on the budget of its owner, let alone the cost of materials for old houses such as wood are extremely prohibitive. Secondly, dissimilar houses contribute to the diverse image of one area. They reduce the boredom of similarity and sometimes bring about new private and external investment in that area. Reputable investors invariably invest in a potential place rather than old-fashioned location.

To conclude, despite aforementioned benefits of the same structures in one area, I firmly assume that it is people’s freedom to build their houses in their own desire.