Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether the governmental budget should cover the art and culture’s expenses or not has recently sparked a heated debate. I will discuss both of the points below even though I assume that expenditure for art and culture is worthwhile.

On the one hand, several people express disapproval of investing in craft and practice since there are other fields that are crucial. Serious concerns such as new infrastructure for transport, education system and modern devices for national healthcare urgently need aid from the government with a view to bettering the residents’ living standard. Should the authority determine the wrong distribution of spending, the local residents bitterly undergo poverty. Furthermore, countries all around the globe have currently experienced the deterioration of the environment. Leaders of each nation should combat these environmental issues by providing renewable and environmentally friendly energy that require a large sum of money other than pointlessly funding the development of art and culture.

On the other hand, I firmly state that financial support for skill and tradition is worthwhile as it plays a fundamental role in national identity, especially in a diverse cultural world at present. Take a museum as an example, which merely exhibits Vietnamese custom and lifestyle, draws a lot of attention from both foreign and domestic travellers. Furthermore, visitors are also fascinated to partake in annual parades, carnivals and festivals like Cherry Blossom Festival in Japan. As a consequence, much more job opportunities are created for the natives directly boosting their income. Not only does it promote the economy but it favorably offers a positive image of a country as well. For instance, Hoi An town is famous for its antique and ancient features. Its buildings and streets reflect the history of Vietnam that remarkably produce a unique heritage site.

In short, these aforementioned reasons prove that investing in culture and art ‘s advantages exceed its disadvantages. However, governments are supposed to tackle significant problems mentioned above.