Some people think that one of the ways to solve environmental problem is to increase price of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, environmental crisis as a result of fuel combustion by cars and other vehicles are on the rise. This has given rise to the fervid question ' can an increase in price of gasoline for cars and other vehicle really mitigate this problem'?. Certain individuals opine that one way to ameliorate environmental issue is to hike price of premium motor spirit. Personally, I totally cannot give credence to the advocates of that school of thought for the reasons explained in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, it will lead to an increase in goods and services. If fuel price are increased, it would result to hardship due to increase in goods and services of transportation cost. For example, in 2018, Nigeria gasoline price rose to 187 per litre and this caused an inflation on goods and services. In general, a rise in petrol price will increase prices of goods and services.

Consequently, it will increase poverty due to inflation cause by fuel price hike. To elucidate, when there is an inflation on prices of goods and services, people cannot be able to afford their basic needs such as food and shelter. For instance, in Venezuela poverty rate has surged to 39% due to petrol pump price hike. Unless there is price reduction of premium motor spirit in Venezuela, her poverty rate will not reduce. On the whole, when gasoline for cars and other vehicles surges, poverty rate also increases.

To recapitulate, petrol and other fuels utilized by vehicles have caused environmental menace however, an increase in price is not the way to mitigate this problem because it will lead to inflation in price of goods and services and poverty. I reiterate my stand that I totally do not believe in that school thought.